The Struggle is Real – Winter in June in Seattle

Many days I think that I am crazy. Yes, crazy! It is raining today, cold, dark, and gloomy. And just like that, my mood has changed from relatively happy to slightly depressed. I’m starting to hate living in Washington again. Okay, I should not use such a loaded word like “hate” but let’s say that I am not very fond of being in Washington state at the moment. I’m asking myself the same question, “Why are you even living here when you DESPISE the weather?” The rest of the country is experiencing a heat wave and here in Seattle it feels like a tundra. I seriously need to break out into song and sing Frozen’s “Do you want to Build a Snowman” because it might as well be snowing here as far as I am concerned.

Since I was feeling very melancholy I found myself at 24 Hour Fitness. It was 8:30pm on a Friday night and I am on the elliptical doing the cross country work out watching House Hunters International, which is absolutely not making me feel better. I am practically on the verge of tears watching House Hunters. I watched two episodes, one couple was buying a vacation house in Aruba and another was looking for an apartment in Florence, Italy, while I was in Bellevue, WA trying to weather the rain storm in the middle of June on an elliptical. My husband is working tonight and I am thinking about how I deserve the right to wear tank tops, sun dresses, and shorts in June. It’s my right! Besides, I think I look way cuter in summer clothing. Now, I’m forced to wear long sleeves, sweaters, and my purple Columbia rain jacket. All these clothes I thought were retired until at least August. I should have known better because my good friend, Leslie, has always told me that summer in Seattle starts the day after the 4th of the July.

Now, I find myself at the gym feeling sorry for myself because it seems like all my California people on Facebook are sitting in outdoor patios having happy hour drinks after work, while I am stuck on a bus in downtown Seattle that is not moving because the Mariners are playing the Rangers tonight. I have all the time in the world to daydream about being in the bay area some where in Oakland, thinking about the beaches in Brazil and the World Cup, while I sit on the D Line trying not to smell the nasty stench of rainy homeless person on the bus.

After my workout I went to Whole Foods and spent 11 dollars on sushi because I was still in a mood. I must have really been in my feelings because I would have never pay that much for grocery store sushi. I came home and had a few glasses of cheap sangria that I bought from Safeway the night before. I started listening to Lady Gaga’s “Do What U Want” on repeat while writing this blog post because it reminded me of my favorite spin class – Tuesday nights with Caroline at 24 Hour Fitness – Kirkland Totem Lake. This is where I get my mental therapy each week and leave all my stress at the spin bike. I’m starting to feel better since writing this blog post and am so glad it is Friday even if it is Friday the 13th and a full moon. I’m thinking I’m not a crazy person after all. I’m just a person seriously suffering from a lack of Vitamin D and the opportunity to wear tank tops and sundresses in the middle of June. I can’t wait for July 5th for summer to start in Seattle.

About The Lemongrass Chronicles

I am a SF bay area girl living in the Pacific Northwest. This is the first time living far from the comforts of home. I am here to experience new experiences. I am excited for this opportunity for personal growth. I have committed myself to learn how to cook meals that are actually yummy; learn how to write and speak spanish; and live life more in the moment!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment